Britta K Ostermeyer, MD, MBA, FAPA
Disclosures: Nothing to disclose

Britta Ostermeyer, MD, MBA, FAPA - Bio Sketch


Dr. Ostermeyer was appointed Professor and Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine in March 2014. She also holds the Paul and Ruth Jonas Chair in Mental Health. Before joining OU, she served as Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and of Family and Community Medicine at the Baylor College of Medicine. A graduate of the Theodor-Heuss Gymnasium, Wolfenbuettel, Germany, Dr. Ostermeyer received her Baccalaureate and was Valedictorian of her class. She received her Doctor of Medicine from Hanover Medical School, Hanover, Germany. She completed her Neurology training at Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas, followed by a residency in psychiatry at The New York State Psychiatric Institute and Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons in New York City. This was followed by a fellowship in psychiatry and the law under the direction of Dr. Phil Resnick at Case Western Reserve University. While at Baylor in Houston, she had several clinical and administrative leadership roles including Chief of Psychiatry at the Ben Taub General Hospital/Harris Health System, Founder and Director of the Harris Health Community Behavioral Health Program (CBHP), Director of Psychiatry Outpatient Services at Harris Health, Assistant Director of Psychiatry Residency Education, and Adjunct Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, Texas. In 2013, Dr. Ostermeyer earned her M.B.A. from the University of Tennessee, College of Business Administration in Knoxville, Tennessee.

Dr. Ostermeyer has published approximately 180 articles and writings. She has been an invited lecturer in the field of psychiatry, most notably in the areas of integrated psychiatry into primary care and medical legal issues/ethics as they relate to public health care policy and patient advocacy. Dr. Ostermeyer is a Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association; is active in a number of national societies and holds committee appointments, including the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law, from which she received the prestigious Rappeport Fellowship Award. She is the recipient of numerous teaching and leadership awards, including the Gold Award for Service Achievement by the American Psychiatric Association and the Community Excellence Award by the Texas Hospital Association for her pioneer work in placing and integrating psychiatrists and psychotherapists with primary care physicians into large scale community-based primary care centers and programs. In addition, she was awarded and completed a one-year fellowship in hospital administration by the National Association of Public Hospitals and Health Systems. She has had over 20 research grants and was a co-primary investigator for an RO1 grant by the National Institute of Health (NIH), an RO1 grant by the National Institute for Mental Health (NIMH), and a grant by the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation (NARSAD.) Also, Dr. Ostermeyer was the Principal Investigator and Medical Director of the Texas Demonstration to Maintain Independence and Employment (DMIE) grant; a $27 million grant by the Centers of Medicare and Medicaid with an in-kind contribution by Harris Health System, administered by the Texas State Department of Health.